Sunday, November 22, 2009

Frank Zappa - Francesco Zappa (1984)

Francesco is a 1984 album by Frank Zappa, often referred to as "Francesco Zappa". It features chamber music by the Italian composer Francesco Zappa, who composed between 1763 and 1788. Frank Zappa found an entry for him in the Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians and then researched his sheet music in the library at UC Berkeley. The two musicians are not related.

Track listing

All selections composed by Francesco Zappa and performed by Frank Zappa on the Synclavier.
Side one

1. "Opus I: No. 1 First Movement: Andante" – 3:32
2. "No. 1 2nd Movement: Allegro con brio" – 1:27
3. "No. 2 1st Movement: Andantino" – 2:14
4. "No. 2 2nd Movement: Minuetto grazioso" – 2:04
5. "No. 3 1st Movement: Andantino" – 1:52
6. "No. 3 2nd Movement: Presto" – 1:50
7. "No. 4 1st Movement: Andante" – 2:20
8. "No. 4 2nd Movement: Allegro" – 3:04
9. "No. 5 2nd Movement: Minuetto grazioso" – 2:29
10. "No. 6 1st Movement: Largo" – 2:08
11. "No. 6 2nd Movement: Minuet" – 2:03

] Side two

1. "Opus IV: No. 1 1st Movement: Andantino" – 2:47
2. "No. 1 2nd Movement: Allegro assai" – 2:02
3. "No. 2 2nd Movement: Allegro assai" – 1:20
4. "No. 3 1st Movement: Andante" – 2:24
5. "No. 3 2nd Movement: Tempo di minuetto" – 2:00
6. "No. 4 1st Movement: Minuetto" – 2:10

Tuesday, November 10, 2009


The Making Of Freak Out!: An FZ Audio Documentary is a box set by Frank Zappa. The set was announced by the Zappa Family Trust in mid-2006. It commemorates the 40th anniversary of and features previously unreleased material from Zappa's first album, Freak Out! It was first issued as a 2-CD set (official release #78), and then as a limited edition 4-CD box set (official release #77) available only through the official Zappa website.
4-CD version

Disc 1:

Original 1966 Stereo LP Mix of Freak Out!.

Disc 2:

None of these tracks have previously appeared in any format outside the Vault other than the configuration offered herein.

1. Hungry Freaks, Daddy - Vocal Overdub Take 1
2. Anyway the Wind Blows - Vocal Overdub
3. Go Cry On Somebody Else's Shoulder - Vocal Overdub Take 2
4. I Ain't Got No Heart - Vocal Overdub Master Take
5. Motherly Love - Vocal Overdub Master Takes
6. I'm Not Satisfied - 2nd Vocal Overdub Master, Take 2 (Rough Mix)
7. You're Probably Wondering Why I'm Here - Vocal Overdub Take 1 (Incomplete)/Take 2 (Incomplete)
8. You're Probably Wondering Why I'm Here - Basic Tracks
9. Who Are the Brain Police? - Basic Tracks
10. How Could I Be Such a Fool? - Basic Tracks
11. Anyway the Wind Blows - Basic Tracks
12. Go Cry On Somebody Else's Shoulder - Basic Tracks
13. I Ain't Got No Heart - Basic Tracks
14. You Didn't Try to Call Me - Basic Tracks
15. Trouble Every Day - Basic Tracks
16. Help, I'm a Rock - FZ Edit
17. Who Are the Brain Police? (Section B) - Alternate Take
18. Groupie Bang Bang
19. Hold On to Your Small Tiny Horsies...

Disc 3:

1. Objects
2. Freak Trim (Kim Outs A Big Idea)
3. Percussion Insert Session Snoop
4. Freak Out Drum Track w/ Timp. & Lion
5. Percussion Object 1 & 2
6. Lion Roar & Drums From Freak Out!
7. Vito Rocks the Floor (Greek Out!)
8. "Low Budget Rock & Roll Band"
9. Suzy Creamcheese (What's Got Into You?)
10. Motherly Love
11. You Didn't Try to Call Me
12. I'm Not Satisfied
13. Hungry Freaks, Daddy
14. Go Cry On Somebody Else's Shoulder

Disc 4:

1. Wowie Zowie
2. Who Are the Brain Police? (Section A, C, B)
3. Hungry Freaks, Daddy
4. Cream Cheese (Work Part)
5. Trouble Every Day
6. It Can't Happen Here (Mothermania version)
7. "Psychedelic Music"
8. "MGM"
9. "Dope Fiend Music"
10. "How We Made It Sound That Way"
11. "Poop Rock"
12. "Machinery"
13. "Psychedelic Upholstery"
14. "Psychedelic Money"
15. Who Are The Brain Police?
16. Any Way the Wind Blows
17. Hungry Freaks, Daddy
18. "The 'Original' Group"
19. "Necessity"
20. "Union Scale"
21. "25 Hundred Signing Fee"
22. "Tom Wilson"
23. "My Pet Theory"
24. "There is No Need"

Tuesday, November 3, 2009

Frank Zappa - Lumpy Gravy (1967 Capitol version)

The album's conception came about in late 1966 when a Capitol Records producer named Nick Venet offered Zappa the chance to record an album of orchestral music. At this point in his career he was known to the public only as a rock musician. Zappa assembled approximately 40 of the very best session musicians (including legendary guitarist Tommy Tedesco) at the Capitol Records studio in Hollywood in February and March 1967 to record an album of his instrumental compositions. Though Zappa was credited as conductor the ensemble was actually led by veteran Hollywood musician Sid Sharp under Zappa's supervision. Zappa gave the group an absurd name, the "Abnuceals Emuukha Electric Symphony Orchestra and Chorus", to match the music.

There was a long delay between the initial orchestral recording sessions and final release in May 1968. This was caused by a dispute between MGM Records and Capitol Records. As first prepared for Capitol, the album contained music from the studio orchestra only with a total playing time of about 22 minutes. However MGM had already signed Zappa to their Verve Records division in early 1966 as a member of The Mothers of Invention. Zappa believed his MGM/Verve contract allowed him to work on outside projects as long as he did not sing or play. MGM disagreed. It claimed ownership of the recordings and sued to stop all distribution of the Capitol album. Under terms of the settlement MGM/Verve agreed to purchase the recordings.

This early version of Lumpy Gravy was released on stereo 4-track cartridge tape format in 1967 only. It contains only orchestral music, about a couple of minutes of which is unique material which is not on the LP/CD version. According to Zappa himself, the Capitol 4-track of Lumpy Gravy is one of the rarest official Zappa releases - if not the rarest. Capitol had also begun preparation of the vinyl LP record as well as a 7" single from the album ("Sink Trap" b/w "Gypsy Airs") but these did not get past the test pressing stage.A recording of the all-orchestral version, sourced from a stereo acetate demonstration disc believed to have been stolen from Capitol's vaults, circulated amongst collectors for a number of years. In 2009, the Capitol version was finally released officially (sourced from a mono master tape) as part of the Lumpy Money box set.