Tuesday, November 10, 2009


The Making Of Freak Out!: An FZ Audio Documentary is a box set by Frank Zappa. The set was announced by the Zappa Family Trust in mid-2006. It commemorates the 40th anniversary of and features previously unreleased material from Zappa's first album, Freak Out! It was first issued as a 2-CD set (official release #78), and then as a limited edition 4-CD box set (official release #77) available only through the official Zappa website.
4-CD version

Disc 1:

Original 1966 Stereo LP Mix of Freak Out!.

Disc 2:

None of these tracks have previously appeared in any format outside the Vault other than the configuration offered herein.

1. Hungry Freaks, Daddy - Vocal Overdub Take 1
2. Anyway the Wind Blows - Vocal Overdub
3. Go Cry On Somebody Else's Shoulder - Vocal Overdub Take 2
4. I Ain't Got No Heart - Vocal Overdub Master Take
5. Motherly Love - Vocal Overdub Master Takes
6. I'm Not Satisfied - 2nd Vocal Overdub Master, Take 2 (Rough Mix)
7. You're Probably Wondering Why I'm Here - Vocal Overdub Take 1 (Incomplete)/Take 2 (Incomplete)
8. You're Probably Wondering Why I'm Here - Basic Tracks
9. Who Are the Brain Police? - Basic Tracks
10. How Could I Be Such a Fool? - Basic Tracks
11. Anyway the Wind Blows - Basic Tracks
12. Go Cry On Somebody Else's Shoulder - Basic Tracks
13. I Ain't Got No Heart - Basic Tracks
14. You Didn't Try to Call Me - Basic Tracks
15. Trouble Every Day - Basic Tracks
16. Help, I'm a Rock - FZ Edit
17. Who Are the Brain Police? (Section B) - Alternate Take
18. Groupie Bang Bang
19. Hold On to Your Small Tiny Horsies...

Disc 3:

1. Objects
2. Freak Trim (Kim Outs A Big Idea)
3. Percussion Insert Session Snoop
4. Freak Out Drum Track w/ Timp. & Lion
5. Percussion Object 1 & 2
6. Lion Roar & Drums From Freak Out!
7. Vito Rocks the Floor (Greek Out!)
8. "Low Budget Rock & Roll Band"
9. Suzy Creamcheese (What's Got Into You?)
10. Motherly Love
11. You Didn't Try to Call Me
12. I'm Not Satisfied
13. Hungry Freaks, Daddy
14. Go Cry On Somebody Else's Shoulder

Disc 4:

1. Wowie Zowie
2. Who Are the Brain Police? (Section A, C, B)
3. Hungry Freaks, Daddy
4. Cream Cheese (Work Part)
5. Trouble Every Day
6. It Can't Happen Here (Mothermania version)
7. "Psychedelic Music"
8. "MGM"
9. "Dope Fiend Music"
10. "How We Made It Sound That Way"
11. "Poop Rock"
12. "Machinery"
13. "Psychedelic Upholstery"
14. "Psychedelic Money"
15. Who Are The Brain Police?
16. Any Way the Wind Blows
17. Hungry Freaks, Daddy
18. "The 'Original' Group"
19. "Necessity"
20. "Union Scale"
21. "25 Hundred Signing Fee"
22. "Tom Wilson"
23. "My Pet Theory"
24. "There is No Need"


marram62 said...



Argantonio said...

Syd Barrett would dig this.
One of my favourite albums.

Alan said...

Spider web like pretty lady - both lead to undoing of fly

Anonymous said...

oh my this is a surprise..xcellent.thanx to u..

Anonymous said...

is dead - link :(