Wednesday, January 27, 2010

Tom Waits - Nighthawks at the Diner (1975)

Nighthawks at the Diner is a 1975 album by Tom Waits, released on Asylum Records. The title was inspired by Edward Hopper's 1942 painting Nighthawks.

The album's working title had been "Nighthawk Postcards from Easy Street," but it was shortened to Nighthawks at the Diner.

The album was recorded live in Record Plant Studios, in front of a small invited audience. This gives the record an intimate feeling as Waits spends time telling stories, jokes and explaining the stories behind his songs through seven separate introductions.

Side One

1. "(Opening Intro)" 2:58
2. "Emotional Weather Report" 3:47
3. ""(Intro)" to "On a Foggy Night"" 2:16
4. "On a Foggy Night" 3:48
5. ""(Intro)" to "Eggs and Sausage"" 1:53
6. "Eggs and Sausage (In a Cadillac with Susan Michelson)" 4:19

Side Two

1. ""(Intro)" to "Better Off Without a Wife"" 3:02
2. "Better Off Without a Wife" 3:59
3. "Nighthawk Postcards (From Easy Street)" 11:30

Side Three

1. ""(Intro)" to "Warm Beer and Cold Women"" 0:55
2. "Warm Beer and Cold Women" 5:21
3. ""(Intro)" to "Putnam County"" 0:47
4. "Putnam County" 7:35
5. "Spare Parts I (A Nocturnal Emission)" Waits, Chuck E. Weiss 6:25

Side Four

1. "Nobody" 2:51
2. ""(Intro)" to "Big Joe and Phantom 309"" 0:40
3. "Big Joe and Phantom 309" Tommy Faile 6:29
4. "Spare Parts II and Closing" Waits, Weiss 5:13


* Pete Christlieb – tenor sax
* Bill Goodwin – drums
* Jim Hughart – upright bass
* Mike Melvoin – piano, electric piano
* Tom Waits – vocals, piano, guitar


marram62 said...

Miles said...

while i appreciate the share (waits has simply always been top drawer), what's so weird about this?

marram62 said...

tom waits in an unequivocal weirdo...

marram62 said...

burgers and fries, indeed!

gypsykat said...

After all these years, this is still my favorite Tom Waits record. It holds up very well.